Uncategorized

Sunday Salon: 1/3/10

The Sunday Salon.com

It’s been a long day so far, and it’s not anywhere close to being over. I woke up at 4:30 this morning for my trip back up to school, and ended up sitting around in the train station for three hours because my train was two hours late. But I finally did make it back up to school, so that’s all that matters. (I even got to have lunch with one of my friends. We kept it classy and went to McDonald’s. Gotta get acclimated to that dining hall food again. ;))

I read two books last week, The Dark Divine by Bree Despain and Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore. I think I made my thoughts for TDD known in this post, though you can still expect a review of that eventually. (My list of posts to write is really long right now.) I liked Magic Under Glass a lot, though I thought it was two short. I’ll post a review of that at some point, too.

I finished Britain in the First Millennium yesterday, which left me with a sense of accomplishment since I’d been working on it for awhile. Though, really, I think it was sheer stubbornness that made me finish it.

Right now I’m rereading The Fellowship of the Ring. My undying love for this trilogy has been renewed, and I’m definitely going to be watching all of my extended DVDs at some point. I’ve also started Alison Weir’s The Wars of the Roses because I love the Wars of the Roses, and I love Weir’s books.

I brought a very small number of books up to school with me to read this quarter, though I doubt I’ll be able to get through all of them. The books I’m hoping to read this quarter are Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, Women in the Middle Ages by Frances & Joseph Gies, World War Z by Max Brooks, Wicked: Resurrection by Nancy Holder & Debby Viguié, and Othello by William Shakespeare.

I start classes on Tuesday. I have a literacy class, another educational psych class, an introduction to middle schools class, and either History of Ancient Rome or History of Ancient Egypt. (I’m trying to get into the Rome class, but if I can’t, I’m taking the Egypt class.) Anyway, a couple of my professors have already posted their syllabi, and I’m pretty convinced that this quarter might kill me.

Have a great week, everyone! &hearts

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: 1/3/10”

  1. I suppose it's my own fault: I've got my history major, the additional social studies classes for my endorsement, the English classes for my second endorsement, my certification coursework, and my political science minor. And my job. And the club I'm an officer of. And on top of that I need to make time for reading and writing somehow.But yeah, I'm looking forward to Othello. =)

Leave a Reply

