Uncategorized

Review: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë


Plot summary here.

Reading this book and watching as Cathy and Heathcliff’s feelings for each other slowly destroy them is like watching a train wreck. And yet, it was completely fascinating to read. Not to mention the fact that this novel is outside the realm of what was considered acceptable for female writers to write at the time – it lacks the sentimentalism that people expected of women.

I did have a hard time seeing how Cathy and Heathcliff ended up falling in love with each other – Cathy is spoiled and petty, while Heathcliff is one of the most twisted characters I’ve come across in literature. But then again, this story is told from Nelly’s point of view, and she makes it clear early on how little love she had for the two, not to mention she wasn’t always with them – this would have skewed the narrative.

9 thoughts on “Review: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë”

  1. Something that explained Cathy and Heathcliff's love a little bit to ME when I read it was a quote from Cathy herself: "He's more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same." Perhaps it's just because it's one of my favorite quotes, and perhaps it's a bit too corny-sounding in this context for some people to believe, but while reading it deepened my understanding a little bit, in that we don't see ALL of what happens between the two, and they ARE both pretty dramatic, after all.

  2. I love this book, although it's been a while since I picked it up. Somehow I get wrapped up in the twisted relationship between Cathy and Heathcliff draws me in every time I read/watch it.

  3. I have never read this book…but I have watched the old movie with Laurence Olivier. I do not believe they make him as bad as the book describes him. I think I shall read this pretty soon…I need to find out 🙂

  4. Everything went wrong because of Catherine's choice. She tried to apply some common sense to their situation. Though "she is Heathcliff" ,she decides to marry Linton, how could the two of them have a future together practically speaking? More or less what happens to Willoughby and Marianne: could their love survive poverty and degradation? In fact, class/rank distinction and money ruled over those poor creatures' lives. I suffer with them while reading but I love their tragic stories.

  5. Great review! I love how you described Cathy and Heathcliff's love as a train wreck you can't help watching. I totally agree. There are a lot of great comments too. I love Maria's on class and money in Wuthering Heights. I think that did rule Cathy's choices, much to her detriment.

Leave a Reply

