Uncategorized

Sunday Salon: 3/21/10

The Sunday Salon.com

This week I finally finished my reread of The Fellowship of the Ring, which gave me a great sense of accomplishment. I’m hoping to work my way through The Two Towers this upcoming quarter. 😉

Right now I’m reading A Companion to Roman Britain, edited by Malcolm Todd, and World War Z by Max Brooks. I had actually checked out the Todd book for my research paper, but thought I’d read all of the other essays in the book, and World War Z is a book a good friend of mine handed to me, saying that I had to read it. So I am, and it’s really good so far.

I’m expecting to get The Dead-Tossed Waves and Brightly Woven in the mail this week, so those will be devoured within two days. I’m also hoping to read a book on women in the middle ages my other good friend gave me to read, and if I can get to it, I borrowed my sister’s copy of Eclipse (which I read solely for educational purposes, I promise).

I have many, many reviews to post that have been filling my queue since December, so I’m hoping to post a few of those while I’ve got the week off from class and work. I’m also hoping to watch a few movies and miniseries – June instructed me that I must watch the War and Peace miniseries, and I also want to rewatch Pride and Prejudice, North & South, and Shakespeare in Love.

I saw Alice in Wonderland with my mom and brother today. So. Much. Pretty. I really enjoyed it, though the 3-D made me just a little bit queasy. I definitely recommend it, though.

Have a great week, everyone! &hearts

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: 3/21/10”

  1. I really enjoyed Alice in Wonderland. I'm hoping to read Brightly Woven soon, I interview the author, Alexandra Bracken, on my blog. She was so sweet!

  2. I can't wait for Tuesday. Its BW's release (I've been flipping through the book every ARC I could grab my hands on lol) AND its Free Cone Day at Ben and Jerry's. Perfect, no? heheHappy belated birthday and have fun on your spring break =)

  3. Ash: Wow, how did I miss that post? I'm going to have to go back and read it!Rachel: It's also free pastry day at Starbucks. As good a reason as any to walk downtown. 😉

  4. I was not crazy about the Two Towers Part of the trilogy. Too much battle for me, but adored the Fellowship.Never saw North and South but plan to read the book. I finally bought it.Have a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

