Uncategorized

Teaser Tuesday: Chapter Three

I thought that I would finally post a little snippet from my WIP, Shards of Memory.

Just to get everyone up to speed, Shards is about a girl named Calanthe, who is the only daughter of the head of a powerful merchant family in her country of Nilea. In Nilea, these powerful merchant families have as much power as the nobility – in some cases, more. In order to cement a political alliance, she is married off to Ethan, the king’s nephew and heir to the throne. At this point in the narrative, she is on her way to the capital city of Adryr to be married.

I tried to fall asleep in the carriage; better than dwelling on what was ahead of me. The carriage’s movements jostled me about in my seat, making sleep all but impossible, so I quickly gave that up and stared out the window instead. We had left behind the sea of red brick buildings that made up my home of Miranda. Now we were on the road that stretched for miles ahead between us and Hrume, the next large city along our way. It looked like a giant grey snake, twisting gently through the gentle hills and vibrant greenery of the Nilean countryside. Occasionally we passed a farm or trundled through a village. No one looked up as we passed; no one seemed to think that there was anything out of the ordinary. A couple times I felt an urge to cry out for help bubble up, but I always suppressed this. It wasn’t as though the villagers or farmers would hear me, anyway. I felt like I had spent my entire life standing in the middle of a crowded room, screaming at the top of my lungs, hoping someone – anyone – would hear me. No one had ever taken heed before; why should things change now?

I know it’s not much, but I’ll post more in the future. =)

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Chapter Three”

  1. Oh! Love this. Calanthe's resignation really comes through– the image of her screaming in a crowded room and going completely unnoticed is very powerful.Thanks so much for posting a snippet.

Leave a Reply

