Uncategorized

In which I take a break from history major-ing.

I’ve been really busy with research papers lately. Not that I’m complaining, because the topics I’ve been researching are really interesting, but still. When I do have free time I have to choose between having a social life or blogging, and at the moment, my social life takes precedence. (I won’t bore you with the details of my social life. It mostly involves going out for coffee or going out for drinks. The end.)

Last week I had to write a 3-4 page paper essay for my SPED class on disproportionality, which involved looking at a lot of education statistics about the proportion of different racial and ethnic groups in various disability categories, and writing a paper outlining federal and state policy regarding disproportionalty – basically, if there is a “significant disproportionality” (defined in Washington State as being twice as likely or half as likely as white students to be in special education) of any one group in special education, then there is a Huge Problem and we need to reevaluate our referral procedures.

Sitting through education classes and looking at things like this is really, really disheartening, and makes me lose even more faith in our public education system. But at the same time, it makes me that much more determined to get out there and do something about it, even if that change happens only one student at a time.

Upon completion of this assignment, I turned to happier matters, and started researching subjects such as blood feuds, adultery law, and the Medici. My 10-12 page research paper for History of Medieval Italy is due June 1, and my topic is how the family and politics were intertwined in 14th and 15th century Florence. If you follow my tweets, you can probably tell that I am, understandably, very excited about this topic.

I’m in a strangely productive mood right now, probably due to the current combination of sunshine, espresso, and Carrie Underwood. As such, I think I will return to perusing Italian law codes.

I hope everyone’s doing well! &hearts

3 thoughts on “In which I take a break from history major-ing.”

  1. That sounds like a really interesting research paper topic. If you have to write a research paper, at least your subject matter is interesting! (Also, are you getting all kinds of ideas for books? I know if I were looking at that stuff, I wouldn't be able to stop the ideas.)

  2. I'm getting so many ideas. The urban structure in my WIP is actually based a lot on the Italian model, so I'm also starting to think of ways to work this stuff in when I go back to writing it this summer.

  3. I've been reading your tweets and your paper topic sounds so interesting to me. I was really disappointed in my history classes and really all of my paper topics this semester. I did write on for my English class about Victorian freak shows though, which was pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

