Uncategorized

/slacking

So, I’ve felt like a huge slacker so far this summer. I’m not taking classes, and have been unemployed thus far. I suppose I could’ve been writing, but I was feeling so distressed at being a slacker, I couldn’t even find the motivation to do that. (I can only stand to be doing nothing for only a couple days, max, and then I start feeling useless because I’m not doing anything productive. That’s just the way I am.) I interviewed for a job on Monday but wasn’t entirely optimistic about getting it, and had applied for numerous other jobs. I was planning to go fill out paperwork on Monday to volunteer at the local branch of the YMCA, just so I’d be doing something.

So today I was offered a job, which I start on Monday morning. So that’s exciting. Yay, not feeling like a slacker! Yay, money!

I actually ended up stopping by the Y today, anyway. I would still like to volunteer a few hours a week, assuming my work schedule will allow it, and if it doesn’t, I’ll do it during the school year. I would be with the school-aged program, so younger than what I intend to teach, but I still have a lot of experience with this age group and I do like them. It’s been so long since I’ve done anything with children; it’ll be nice to get back into that. I miss it.

And tomorrow morning, I will walk downtown to my favorite coffee shop, relishing the (hopefully) nice weather and enjoying a lazy Saturday morning with no obligations awaiting me. And then, at long last, I will write.

5 thoughts on “/slacking”

  1. I know EXACTLY how you feel. I'm in the same boat as you are (unemployed, got laid off a while ago), and one of mt first thoughts were, 'Yes! Now I'll have oodles of time for writing.' Sadly, that is not the case because instead of writing, I have been trying to do ANYTHING to seem productive since I'm not working. And every time I try to write, I just don't feel motivated right now, I think it's because my mind is too stressed and focusing on other things. *sigh* Hang in there!

  2. Jealous you got a job. I'm staying with my parents this summer and even though I have an unpaid internship I still kind of feel like a slacker. Plus I'm just annoyed with being home and seeing all the losers I went to high school with all the time. Next summer I'm definitely staying at school and working at my new job, maybe getting a second job too so I can make some money!

  3. I've been out of school for a month, and I'm such a slacker as well. All I have been doing is studying for my MCAT (and wasting time on the Internet). Yay for getting a job! 🙂

  4. Excellent – congratulations! :DWhen I was unemployed/student/housewife (depending on how you look at it), I found lots of things to do, but writing or even cleaning the house wasn't one of them… heh. Gave plenty of time to watch DVDs and blog – except I didn't start that up until a bit too late, because once I got into it, I finally found employment! Oh the irony. Although books on writing normally say "MAKE time", because we all say "I'll write a book when I have time" and then we decide we never have that elusive Time To Write, so just make time. Go to bed or get up half an hour later/earlier, watch less TV, etc. I was half-panicky when I did NaNoWriMo in 2007 because I was doing contract work for most of November and thought I would never have the time to write 50k words. Well, I found the time and did it. A late night here and there, a number of lunch hours, and times where I was kept waiting for things to do at work… The story completely lacks a coherent plot, has little or no conflict and is fairly horrendous, but hey, I did it! 😀 So with writing – squeeze it in whenever you can, and however you can. I always feel naked if I leave home without pen and paper.

Leave a Reply

