Uncategorized

Sunday Salon: 7/11/10

The Sunday Salon.com

Well, it’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these. I don’t think I really need to go into why. I’ve been reading more lately than I was for awhile, but still not nearly as much as I would like. (Though not for lack of trying. I carry a book with me everywhere I go. One of my coworkers actually mentioned that yesterday, haha.)

In the past couple weeks I’ve finished World War Z and The Wars of the Roses, both books I’d started over spring break and had to put down because of school. I’ll be reviewing World War Z sometime this week, probably. I liked both, but wasn’t over the moon about either. Unfortunately, I haven’t read a book yet this summer that’s been like that for me. But I guess I’ve still got two more months to get on that.

Right now I’m reading The Luxe by Anna Godbersen. For those of you who were wondering, it follows the doings of Manhattan’s social elite in 1899. I would describe it as the Victorian Gossip Girls. I’m finding it enjoyable so far – a nice summer read, but I’m also not connecting to the characters as well as I would like. That aspect has been a little disappointing, since I came to this book with such high expectations. I’m about halfway through right now, though, so I can’t really give a final judgement quite yet.

I’ve been busy working, though I did find time to get out into the sunshine we had last week. Despite slathering myself with SPF 50 every time I went out I did manage to get a little bit of a sunburn. Not that it takes much…I burn so quickly it’s ridiculous.

Right now it’s looking like I’m going to have tons of time this week to finish my library books and get some writing done, but this is always subject to change. We’ll see at the end of the week, I guess!

Have a great week! &hearts

1 thought on “Sunday Salon: 7/11/10”

  1. I burn rather quickly as well and have been peeling like crazy all summer. Looking forward to your thoughts on The Luxe, hopefully a great read is right around the corner for you!

Leave a Reply

