Uncategorized

So, I sort of like history.

Okay, that might be a little bit of an understatement. It’s probably more accurate to say that I eat, sleep, and breathe it. For a good portion of the year, I give up a regular sleep schedule, eat anything that can be easily carried in my bag, and haul my weight in books around campus, up and down stairs, whatever. I spend a great deal of my time sleep deprived and stressed – and I love every second of it.

History is challenging. It’s not just all the reading and the writing; a lot of the challenge comes from the fact that there is no right answer. Multiple people can look at the same piece of evidence and come to completely different conclusions. When I write history papers, I’m not just writing a paper. I’m constructing an argument, laying out each piece of evidence to support my conclusion, all the while anticipating opposing arguments and deflecting them. Putting these things together, for me, is like putting together a puzzle. It’s a challenge. And that’s the thing I love most.

1 thought on “”

Leave a Reply

