Uncategorized

Anatomy of a history paper.

A week and a half ago, I had to submit a rough draft of my Big Paper to my professor so he could read it and offer feedback and suggestions for improvement. I got mine back, and now I have eight days to revise it.

…and by revise, I mean more or less rewrite it.

I got three pages of written comments back with my draft, in which my professor conceded that I did a very good job using my primary sources, but other than that didn’t really have anything positive to say. This professor is notoriously critical. He does a very effective job of (very politely) making you feel like a complete idiot. But if I could pick anyone in the world to help me revise my novel when I finally finish this draft, he is probably one of the people I would choose.

So, basically, my poor paper is about to be Humpty Dumpty’d: I am going to shove it off the wall and try to put it back together again. And, when I’m done, it will hopefully be a much better product than this one was.

(Confession: I didn’t turn in a completed draft. It was due the same day Harry Potter came out, which I made sure to note when I turned in 20 pages and a detailed outline of the last 6 or 7 pages.)

And now, it’s time for me to turn on “I’ll Make A Man Out Of You” (which is quite possibly the single most inspirational song ever) and do this thing.

4 thoughts on “Anatomy of a history paper.”

  1. Yeah, Diehl gave me very extensive feedback on the first draft…I ended up with an A-, which I definitely was not expecting. Have you gotten yours back yet?

  2. I got a B+ on mine, A- overall. I'm really happy with that though. It feels good to have finally done something instead of just learned a bunch of stuff and then moved on.

  3. Yeah. I intentionally chose a topic I didn't know much about, just because I knew I would be spending so much time with it and getting to know it really well. I loved it, even if writing the paper itself was a painful experience…

Leave a Reply

