Uncategorized

Thinking about books.

I stopped living in my parents’ house full time a little more than three years ago, but I still have a room full of stuff that I need to excavate. Most of these things are books and stuffed animals that I haven’t been able to convince myself to part with.

But I don’t have enough space for all of them in my apartment. And given how much I move around, between dorm rooms and leases and whatever, it really isn’t practical to move them all around.

Which means I have to think very carefully about which books, especially, I feel like are valuable enough to hold onto. Not that none of the books have any value; what I mean is I have to sit down and figure out which books mean something to me, really spoke to me in some way, and what I will probably read over and over again.

There are the obvious ones. My collection of Little House books. Lord of the Rings. Harry Potter. Wuthering Heights.

There are also a few less obvious ones. I read Dear John, for example, at a very rough time. I’m always going to associate that book with that period in my life and remember how it helped me through it by being an escape for me. I have to hold onto that book for that reason.

Are there any books like what I was describing that anyone out there has? I’m interested in hearing them =)

Leave a Reply

