Uncategorized

Road Trip Wednesday: I would have given anything to be like…

In honor of the release of Kirsten Hubbard’s Like Mandarin (which I totally want to read), YA Highway is doing their Road Trip Wednesday this week on…

When I was a teenager, I would have given anything to be like…

Well, when I was a teenager, I would’ve given anything to be like anyone except me. I was super shy, and super awkward, and more often than not people didn’t even realize I was there. I wanted to be a movie star, or something equally glamorous.

I think mostly I just wanted to someone who was confident and self-assured and was basically everything I wasn’t. And, naturally, I didn’t think it was possible for me to become either of those things. Poor me.

Fortunately I wised up around age 19. I’m still not as confident or self-assured as I want to be, but I’ve made a lot of progress since back then. It’s a lot of work, but it’s so worth it.

Besides. Why would I want to be someone else? Being me is so much more fun.

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: I would have given anything to be like…”

  1. so many of us want to change, dont we? but thankfully, the older you get, the wiser you get (most of the time, anyway), so its all in the name of your personal growth, heh.

  2. It's so hard to be a teenager! I had such little confidence back then, too. I was always amazed by those girls who walked through the halls of school as if they owned them. Sometimes, you have to grow up to find that confident place inside yourself.

  3. I was awkward, too! But by them time I got to college, I realized I wasn't the only one, and that other girls had their own Mandarins, people they compared themselves to, and always found themselves lacking. That really helped me get over the fact that I would never be someone else, and that being myself was so much better. Great post!

Leave a Reply

