Uncategorized

The end is near.

I’m going to give you an idea of how bad things are right now:
-This morning I rolled out of bed, said, “Meh,” pulled on a hoodie and the first pair of jeans I spied lying on my floor (which may or may not have been clean; I’m sort of just throwing everything on the floor right now), and called it good. (Well. I guess I brushed my teeth. So there’s that, at least.)
-I’m currently on my finals diet of mac & cheese, chocolate, and coffee. And maybe if I remember to I eat a banana or yogurt or something. But probably not.
-I have spent more money than I care to admit on Starbucks today. It’s not usually this bad, I promise.
-If my roommate wasn’t such a stickler for dishes, there would be an abundance of dirty dishes in the sink right now.

Wednesday by noon, I will be done with this. And there will be a definite sense of relief. But at the same time…it’ll also be bittersweet.

Today in my last social studies methods/curriculum class ever, I realized that about 75% of the people in the class will be student teaching in the fall. I’ve had classes with some of these people every quarter for the past two years. We’ve all gotten to be friends, to asking about each other’s families, we’ve gone out for drinks together. It’s completely bizarre to think, after all we’ve gone through, that our journey together is finally at its end. And for the rest of us…well, we’ve got one last quarter together, and then all of us will be starting our student teaching in January.

And on Monday I will have my last undergraduate history class ever, since I’m only taking my remaining cert classes this fall. It’s my medieval history seminar. So many of the people in there, I’ve had classes with for three or four years. We keep running into each other, because we literally take all the same classes. (There’s really not that many medieval history classes to choose from.) Half of my senior research seminar from the fall is in there, and we’ve all gotten to be friends. And now they’re all graduating too. Monday might be the last time I ever see some of them.

And it’s weird to think that this time next year, I will be finishing up my student teaching and graduating. A year from now, I will have a college degree and a teaching certificate. I will have pieces of paper telling me that my effort for the past five years wasn’t a complete waste of time.

I’ve been in school since I was five years old…it’s going to be weird not having my entire life revolve around that anymore.

But I’m not going to worry about that right now. Right now I’m going to focus on not letting this 20 page paper on medieval inquisitions kill me.

2 thoughts on “The end is near.”

  1. Woop woop! Go Steph go! I completely understand the whole 'student-ala-hobo' lifestyle, but really, as long as you get the work done, who cares what you smell/look like? And don't forget to reward yourself at the end – possibly with a lifetime membership to Starbucks? 😛 GOOD LUCK!!!

Leave a Reply

