Uncategorized

Summer in the City of Subdued Excitement

My friend and her fiance were visiting from California this weekend, looking around because they’re thinking about moving here. (She is familiar with the area, he is not.) We ended up revisiting a few of the places we used to go a lot during our freshman year before she transferred colleges, a lot of which I hadn’t been to in a few years.

It really made me nostalgic. It also made me thing…this is it. This may quite possibly be the last summer I have up here. I have tons of time on my hands (for the moment – I have an interview for a part-time job coming up!) – I should slow down and try to really enjoy it, and try to soak it all in one last time.

I love it up here. I really do. I remember the spring of my junior year of high school, when I was starting to think about which colleges to apply to, I had my heart set on the University of Washington – until my guidance counselor told me to look into Western, which is known for its teaching college. I’m really glad I ended up taking his advice, because let’s face it – while I love visiting Seattle, I could never live there. It’s too big. I’d be miserable.

Anyway. Bellingham has a unique charm to it, and I’m going to miss it if/when I have to leave. So. I’m endeavoring to make this last summer up here truly awesome, even with the class and potential job. And I’m hoping to be able to share some of that with you…if I can remember to pack my camera/that I have packed my camera. (Let’s face it, my cell phone camera just doesn’t cut it.)

And on the writing front, I opened my Word document for the first time in months yesterday morning, and was all set with my coffee and my Cobra Starship…and then I ended up writing a poem instead. I’ve written a little bit tonight, though, it’s been awhile so I’m trying to get back into the groove.

And now I’m falling asleep, so I’ll call it good here. Have a good night, everyone!

Currently Listening To: Enrique Iglesias – “Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You)”
Currently Reading: Lirael by Garth Nix

Leave a Reply

