Uncategorized

First Week of Summer

One week of class down, five more to go!

Although, I’m genuinely sad that this class is only the six week, as opposed to the nine week, or even the ten or eleven that normal quarters are. Because my class is a young adult lit class. So basically we get to read YA books and then come to class and talk about them. So basically it’s the best class ever.

This week we discussed poetry. We’re supposed to read Looking for Alaska for Monday, which totally doesn’t even feel like homework, to be honest. It’s one of my favorite books ever.

Since I only have the one class, my homework doesn’t feel like homework, and I’m unemployed right now (although I have an interview on Thursday – cross your fingers!), I also have tons of free time, which is a really strange feeling. I’ve been reading – I finished A Royal Passion by Katie Whitaker last week and I’m almost done with Lirael by Garth Nix – and I’ve written a couple poems and worked a little bit on SHARDS. And watched many episodes of The Daily Show, of course.

I’ve also had time to do other cool things around town. Such as:

Spend some time at Boulevard Park on the first day of summer. I did some of my homework. And got mildly sunburned. Which, frankly, isn’t that hard for me.

On Wednesday Harry and the Potters were in town, courtesy of the Bellingham Public Library. Some of my Harry Potter Club friends are in town this summer too so we went as a group. And it was totally awesome.

Bellingham has a farmers market every Saturday. I haven’t been able to go in awhile because I work every single Saturday during the school year, so now that I have Saturday mornings free I absolutely have to go. There’s so much to see, between the different stalls, the musicians, and the people bombarding you with requests to sign their petitions. (In Bellingham, these petitions are usually related to pot or animal cruelty, but occasionally both at the same time.) And the FOOD. It smells SO GOOD. I mostly just love wandering around so I can smell it all and sample some of it.

So that’s what I’ve been up to this week. Tonight is the kickoff of the summer outdoor movie series (with Grease!) so I’m going to that, and hopefully avoiding getting eaten alive by mosquitoes. (They love me. Like, more than they love most people. I just taste that good, I guess.)

I hope everyone else had a good week, too! &hearts

Currently Listening To: Barenaked Ladies – “Pinch Me”
Currently Reading: Lirael by Garth Nix & Looking for Alaska by John Green

Leave a Reply

