Uncategorized

Best project EVER

For my young adult lit class we have to do a group project on something related to the adolescent experience. My group decided to do teen fads, specifically focusing on music, dance, movies, tv shows, and fashion. As the history major in the group, I volunteered to cover the 1940s and 1950s (although none of the other group members seemed particularly enthused about these decades anyway…).

So now I’m listening to a 1940s big band playlist on YouTube. And it’s totally productive, because it’s research. Best project ever.

In other news, I signed up for the public library’s adult summer reading program. I haven’t done a summer reading program since I was a little kid, and I have this giant stack of library books, so I figured, why not? My goal is 20 books. I already have two. And, given the pace I’m reading Anna and the French Kiss, it’ll probably be three by tomorrow. I think this is probably the cutest book I’ve ever read. I just want to hug it and never let go.

I’m also taking the WEST-E next month. Which, for those of you not in the know, is the state test that I have to take in order to get a teaching certificate that proves that I have enough knowledge of my subject area to be able to teach it competently. Next month I’m doing the Social Studies one, and then this fall I’ll take my other one for my Humanities endorsement. I have like a 19-page PDF file with all of the things that should be on the test. Most of it I feel pretty solid on, but I pretty much looked at all of the stuff that pertains to Washington State History and was like, “When did we ever talk about that?” But I’m not too worried about it.

I have a job interview on Thursday for a summer job…wish me luck!

Oh, and before I forget, the world definitely needs to be exposed to this:

Leave a Reply

