Shards of Memory

Progress Report: Shards of Memory

I hit 30k on Sunday night, which is about 60% of the way toward completion. So I took a moment to dance around my room a bit.

I think my roommate was probably relieved that I finished that scene I was working on because I’d been listening to the same song over and over and over again on repeat for the past two hours. And since she doesn’t quite share my taste in music, she was probably really sick of it.
The song I listened to through that entire last scene was “Dance Me To The End Of Love” by The Civil Wars, because it just seemed to fit so well with what I was writing and was therefore the only song I could possibly listen to that wouldn’t through off my groove.

I haven’t been able to write as much as I’d like lately, but I’ve been doing better so far this quarter blocking out time in my schedule to write. And when I do sit down to write, it’s coming easier. I think now that I’m past the halfway point – so more of this thing is done than not done – I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel, so I’m starting to feel really excited about finishing this draft.
Also, it totally helps that stuff is totally happening and things are really about to hit the fan soon. I might be a little sadistic. My poor characters.
Anyway, it’s after my bedtime now. So I’d probably better go sleep. After I finish my laundry. Which I sort of forgot about in the midst of awkwardly dancing around my room. Oops.

Currently Listening To: Bon Iver – “Holocene”

3 thoughts on “Progress Report: Shards of Memory”

  1. Yay! Congrats for the 30k!! It's awesome. :DI didn't know the Civil Wars cover, but it's a very famous song originally (and written) by Leonard Cohen (whom I revere) and it's actually called Dance Me to the *End* of Love! 😉

  2. I do the same thing, listen to a bit of music (or a certain band, or a playlist with like three songs on it) for however long it takes me to get through a part of a manuscript.Way to go, more than half way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

