Book Reviews

Review: Shatter Me

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was so excited for this book, I was worried it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. Fortunately, I was wrong – this book actually exceeded them.

What really made this book for me was Juliette. I found it so easy to relate to her – all she wanted was for people to like her, and went to all sorts of lengths to make sure people would like her, and thought that if she was just “enough,” people would stop treating her like a freak. I really wish this book had been around when I was a teenager, because I would’ve found it so easy to relate to her, and I feel like reading about her struggle to figure out who she was would have been helpful for me to read.

As much as I wanted to hate Warner – he was so, so twisted – I couldn’t, because I feel like he had the same problem as Juliette – he wanted to be wanted; the difference between him and Juliette was just that he chose another route to dealing with his feelings of being an outcast. The fact that he had these feelings made him much more realistic, to the point where I actually found myself feeling sorry for him.

I can’t wait for the next book to come out!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

