Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Where I buy my books.

Where do you buy most of your books? No one is judging!

I used to be all about Barnes & Noble and Amazon. But, since moving up to Bellingham, I haven’t been frequenting them as much. If I happen to be there and see something I want, then I’ll buy it, but I spend way more of my time other places these days.

My favorite bookstore ever is Village Books, up in Bellingham, but I try not to go there too often because I would easily knock out my entire bank account in their YA section alone. (Last time I was there, my friends almost had to drag me out of there. Not that it’s hard, since I’m tiny enough that most people can lift and carry me, no problem…)

I bought the vast majority of my books this year at either used bookstores (which are the most magical place on the planet, I’ve decided) or at used book sales at the public library. I actually like both of these options the best because it’s like a treasure hunt – you never know what you’re going to find. Like, over the summer when I was at the library’s book sale, I found several bins of Life magazine issues – from the 1950s. SO COOL.

Also, used bookstores have that wonderful old book smell going on, and that’s my favorite smell ever.

Currently Watching: The Colbert Report
Currently Reading: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

6 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Where I buy my books.”

  1. Those finds are terrific. I've certainly come across some gems when scouring used book stores. Stuff you'd never find for sale–even online–anymore. And certainly not as cheap!

  2. Love how you've compared used book sales to treasure hunts… totally agree! And it sounds like I need to make the trek to Bellingham to visit Village Books!

Leave a Reply

