Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Five Favorite Books of 2011

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

This week’s topic is…
What were your top five favorite books of 2011?

I’ve read 52 books and counting for this year, which is pretty awesome, considering I only read, like, 30 last year. (This is only counting books for fun. If I counted all the books I had to read for school, it would’ve been way higher. Life is pretty glamorous when you’re a history major and an English minor.)

Anyway, I liked most of the books I read this year, but there were some that were pretty amazing, and it’s hard to narrow it down to just five. In no particular order, my top 5 are…

I read Speak for the first time in January, and then I had to read it again in July for my YA Lit class, and if anything, it was more amazing the second time. It was one of those few books I thought about even when I wasn’t reading it, and I think what it was was Melinda’s voice – it just hooked me in and wouldn’t let go.

This is another one of those books I couldn’t stop thinking about, and if I hadn’t been busy with school, I probably would’ve read it in one sitting. I’m usually pretty good at guessing plot twists, but there were several in this book that I didn’t see coming at all.

I’ll be totally honest: I blew off homework to finish Sabriel. (As much as I love inquisition trials, I loved this book more. That’s a pretty high compliment. It’s right up there with crying and throwing books.) I read the other two books over the summer, and while they were also amazing, this one was by far my favorite.

I don’t think I need to explain this one.

Across the Universe had everything: mystery, romance, suspense, all wrapped up in a dystopian society trapped on a spaceship centuries into the future. I’ve already read A Million Suns (I won an ARC), and it only keeps getting better.

Honorable mentions: The Body Finder and The Pledge by Kimberly Derting, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, Delirium by Lauren Oliver

What were some of your favorite books this year?

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Five Favorite Books of 2011

  1. I love this list! Your first three choices are some of my favorites of all time, Anna made me revise my 'dislike' of contemporary YA romance, and Across the Universe is on the top of my to-read list for 2012. Apparently we have incredibly similar tastes :-D.

Leave a Reply

