Book Reviews

Review: Mockingjay

Mockingjay
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve read this one twice now and I think, if anything, I cried even harder the second time around than I did the first time. I think this was because the first time I read it, I was just trying to finish it so I’d know what happened, whereas this time, I took my time, taking everything in and thinking about things; I’m sure that when I read it again (and again and again) I’ll pick up on even more things.

I think what really struck me was how much each death impacted Katniss. With this subject matter, it can be easy to just have violence just for the sake of violence (just look at all the movies out there…), but I think Collins did a really good job exploring the effects of violence.

I also liked how Collins took the time to give us more of the relationship between Katniss and Prim, especially how Prim is growing up and how Katniss is trying to come to terms with that – because I think a lot of people can relate to that.

I think the only problems I really had with the book were in the beginning, when Katniss agrees to be the Mockingjay, and the epilogue. In the beginning, I can understand her rationale for becoming the Mockingjay, but I felt like it happened really fast. As for the epilogue, it was nice to see how they’re doing after the war, but it fell really flat for me because it took away from the impact of that last chapter; I think the book could’ve just ended with the chapter right before the epilogue and been just fine.

Mockingjay isn’t my favorite book out of the three, but it was a strong conclusion to an amazing trilogy.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Mockingjay”

  1. I reread all the books this year, but I'll probably end up rereading the first one again in March right before the movie comes out. I can't wait for the midnight premiere, either!Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

