Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: my ideal writing retreat

This week’s topic is…
Describe your dream writing retreat. Where would you go? Who and what would you bring?

I do most of my writing in a couple places. There are a couple coffee shops I like to go to to work, because when I’ve gone to all the effort to haul myself and my stuff somewhere, I feel compelled to stay awhile and actually get some work done. This works pretty well most of the time, since I can just put in headphones and turn on some music and block out everything else, but sometimes distractions do happen, whether it’s me looking out the window (we have very interesting people downtown, not to mention how awesome our weather has been lately…) or small children running around, screaming, while their parents just sit around and drink coffee (which is completely RUDE, btw).

Since I work on campus, though, I don’t work during breaks, which means that I don’t have a lot of extra money to spend on coffee at the moment, so lately I’ve been getting most of my writing done, at home, with my bedroom door shut – which sort of makes me feel bad, because then I’m basically ignoring my roommate and being antisocial and whatever. Plus, there are just times when whatever my roommate is doing is way more interesting than love triangles, or having an entire country crumbling at my fingertips.

So. I think, as far as all of that goes, I’d have to go somewhere with NO PEOPLE around. As for where, exactly, I’d like to go, I don’t have anywhere in particular in mind. I think wherever it is, there will be mountains and/or ocean involved, because I absolutely love both. My preference would be for somewhere that has both, since I love them both equally and would be hard-pressed to choose…so I’m thinking I’d probably just start by looking up small coastal towns along the Washington/Oregon/Northern California coast, and go from there.

As far as what I would bring…well, definitely my computer, Emily. Probably my journal, so I can write in it when I go on walks and whatever, and probably my camera so I can take pictures. And since this is my “dream writing retreat,” unlimited funds for coffee.

I really wish I had the time and money to make this happen now…

Currently Listening To: The Black Keys – “Lonely Boy”
Currently Reading: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

5 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: my ideal writing retreat”

  1. Unlimited funds. I knew I'd forgotten something! *smacks head* I work on campus too, and I hate not having money coming in to go toward my coffee and book buying habits. This is the main reason I'm glad classes will resume soon. I gold-dig my own life, haha!

  2. I think the money thing is an issue with most people fulfilling their fantasy get-away plans. Though my choice is actually quite cheap. Not nearly as exotic or picturesque, though. 🙂

  3. I have the roommate problem, too. I convince myself that I can write (or do homework, or generally be a productive member of society,) while I'm out in the living room with my roommates, but I can't say no when they invite me to play Mario Party with them 😉 Also love mountains and the ocean, sounds like a lovely retreat 🙂

  4. I forgot about the camera 🙂 I´m with you on that one!By the way, did you give your computer a name? :-)I write mostly in the train on my way to work and at home…I used to work at school (both in my undergrad and my grad years) so I know where you´re coming from. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

