Book Reviews

Review: A Million Suns

A Million Suns
A Million Suns by Beth Revis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was fortunate enough to read an ARC of this back in September or October. I vaguely remember entering a giveaway somewhere, but then school started and I was focused on that, so I was completely surprised when I got this in the mail…so thank you, mysterious benefactor! And now, onto my review!

I was afraid of A Million Suns not living up to the AWESOME that was Across the Universe (which is still my favorite of the two), but I quickly realized that wouldn’t be a problem at all. If anything, there are even more twists and turns in this one than in the first book, all leading to an ending that was such a cliffhanger, I wanted to throw the book across the room because I was so mad I have to wait so long to find out what happens. And the really cruel part is, there is so much suspense that you’re going to want to keep reading to find out what happens, meaning you’ll be done with the book that much faster.

Another highlight for me is Amy and Elder’s relationship. I love that things aren’t all happy and shiny with them, because I’ve seen various books where characters will kiss or get together or whatever, and then suddenly all the tension is gone and everything is perfect and wonderful…and those just aren’t realistic to me. In A Million Suns, Revis keeps the tension between them, and we actually see Amy questioning her feelings for Elder instead of unquestioningly accepting them.

This, everyone, is a sequel worth reading.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

