Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of January (and an honorable mention!)

This week’s topic is: What was the best book you read in January?

I wasn’t going to do RTW because, after spending nine hours at school and then coming home with things to look at for lesson plans and unit plans and TPA-ing and OMG MY BRAIN, I pretty much have no brain power for anything else.

But…I don’t even have to think about my response to this one. Because, clearly, the only realistic contender for the best book I read in January is John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. (Btw, I’ll try to remember to talk about Monday night at some point. Probably Friday or Saturday.) I’m not going to go into it again here, since I already wrote a review on Sunday, but it completely blew the competition out of the water.

Given the unfairness presented here by the release of such a brilliant book, I’m going to go ahead and give an honorable mention to Sarah J. Maas’s The Assassin and the Pirate Lord. It had all of my favorite things: an awesome heroine with a softer side, a guy who’s too smug for his own good but I couldn’t help loving anyway, and pirates. And, the writing is awesome, which makes the whole thing that much better.

Okay. Back to work with me!

Currently Listening To: Fountains Of Wayne – “Stacy’s Mom”
Currently Reading: Splendor by Anna Godbersen

2 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of January (and an honorable mention!)”

  1. Hope you´re getting some rest :DThe Fault in Our Stars is really getting amazing review and I can tell it is an emotional & powerful book which will make me cry…

Leave a Reply

