History Thursday, Platform Building Campaign

Campaign! Also, John Green Teaches World History.

I interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to announce that I’m going to be participating in the Fourth Writer’s Platform-Building Campaign

I’ve never done one of these before, but I figured it could be a nice way to meet new people! =)

And now, onto the educational portion of this post…

One of my new favorite things is John Green’s Crash Course, wherein he does a video in which he teaches his teenage self about world history. In case you have yet to witness the awesome, here are the first couple of videos:

They’re really good. They’re funny (of course!), educational, and perfect for a teenaged audience who might not be particularly interested in history since John connects everything back to things that are relevant to teens, like cheeseburgers and relationships. I’m bookmarking them all so I can use them in my own classroom someday…I think they’d be great to hook students into a new topic!

DFTBA.

Currently Listening To: Colbie Caillat – “Brighter Than The Sun”
Currently Reading: A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

43 thoughts on “Campaign! Also, John Green Teaches World History.”

  1. Hello πŸ™‚ I'm another campaigner who writes YA (under the name Rhiannon Morgan). I'm also a fellow BSB fan (or I was. Dudes have not aged well. Where the hell are O Town, anyway?).

  2. Alas, not everyone can age as well as Ricky Martin and John Stamos have. I mostly try to avoid pictures of them and pretend we're still in the 90s when I listen to them. And what ever did happen to O Town? I feel like they just dropped off the face of the planet!Nice to meet you! =)

  3. Hi Stephanie! Just stopped by to say hi (I'm also doing the Campaign this year) and I loved the title of your blog. I'm just getting started in this whole blogosphere, but I look forward to reading more of your posts! Karina xxxhttp://kaysbook.blogspot.com/

  4. Hi Stephanie, I am in your campaign group, and I am coming around to say hi to everybody and introduce myself πŸ™‚ I look forward to getting to know you better!

  5. Hi! I'm in your YA group for the Campaign and I thought I'd stop by and say hello! I absolutely love the videos you've posted here! I'm a history teacher and these are fantastic! πŸ™‚ Great to meet you!

Leave a Reply

