And Then Life Happened

On becoming a morning person.

I’ve been getting up every day at 5:30 for work, and something completely terrible is happening as a result: I’m turning into a morning person.

It’s Saturday morning. I think I actually woke up at 5 or 5:30, but I finally got out of bed at 6. And…I’m actually sort of okay with it. My apartment is so quiet right now, I don’t have to fight anyone else for the coffee or the bathroom. I have time to sit and leisurely enjoy my coffee and my book before I have to go to my weekend job. It’s actually pretty nice, not being in a hurry.

Theoretically I should also be able to get some writing done, now that I’m not falling asleep (seriously, I fell asleep last night while catching up on last week’s episodes of Colbert – how is that even possible?), and I probably will in a little bit after I’ve checked my email and checked out some more of your blogs. I’ve got a short story in progress that’s a sort of companion piece to SHARDS. You see, there’s this whole reincarnation plot that I keep forgetting to mention in all of my summaries everywhere, so this story is a little bit of the backstory to that, me trying to get inside one of the characters’ heads a little bit more since we only really get one side of the story in SHARDS. (Plus, it’s fun to write from different perspectives every once in awhile!)

Hopefully, I’ll be able to finish that today, and then I can return my focus back to my SHARDS revision! Which isn’t really progressing, with the whole being busy thing. I’m outlining the book right now so I can see the different threads and where they all are, where I have holes that I need to fill in, or where I might shift things, or cut things altogether. Thinking about this doesn’t actually make me want to cry anymore. It’s reading my writing in the early chapters that makes me want to cry. This story was written over the course of two years, and I like to think that my writing got better over time…but I guess I’ll have to see. Apparently I had a tendency to, ahem, misplace my modifiers. ALL THE MODIFIERS ALL OVER THE PLACE. Now that I’m teaching writing, this mostly just makes me want to curl up in a ball and cry.

I’m also toying with some ideas for more writing posts. We’re doing a short story unit in writing right now, so we’re talking about all sorts of things with the students – characterization, setting, conflict, plot, POV, verb tense…I might try to write up posts about some of these topics in the coming weeks.

Ooh, there’s another thing about mornings. I feel so much more productive now that I’ve got all that extra time before my day really gets going! Because if I wait until after my day is over to try to get anything done…it doesn’t work because I’m tired and my brain is fried. But right now, I’m still fresh! (And well-caffeinated. Can’t forget about that!)

Morning people, I’m sorry I hated on you for so long…but I still suggest waiting until I’ve had at least one cup of coffee before you try to talk my ear off.

Currently Listening To: David Guetta feat. Fergie & LMFAO – “Gettin’ Over You”
Currently Reading: Three Maids for a Crown by Ella March Chase

14 thoughts on “On becoming a morning person.”

  1. Oh goodness I know what you mean! I've been trying this "develop healthy habits" things where I do a new habit every three weeks. The last three weeks were devoted to waking up early. This morning was the first morning I didn't set an alarm, and I slept until ten, woke up feeling groggy and headachy, and really can't wait to get up early tomorrow. It threw my whole day! I guess I am just a morning person now, too 🙂

  2. I would prefer to be more of a morning person, but my weakness is staying up to long in the evenings. Thought I would stop by and say hi. Found you in the fantasy list of the campaign.

  3. From one not-morning person to another, it's nearly impossible for me to be awake before 6:30 am. Well, I can be awake. I just don't function well in bright light first thing in the morning. Next-to-no lighting suits my eyes just fine until the sun actually rises! BTW, just popped around to say 'hi' to a fellow YA Campaigner. :)PS. For some reason, I've been having trouble posting comments with my WordPress (http://mywithershins.wordpress.com) profile where my writing blog is located, so I'll use my Google account.

Leave a Reply

