Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Words

This week’s topic for YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday is…

What words do you absolutely hate? Which ones do you adore?

The only two words I can think of off the top of my head in my cold-addled state are retard(ed) and gay. And when I say that, I mean the words themselves aren’t the problem. It’s when people take them and use them to mean something derogatory that I absolutely can’t stand.

And my absolute favorite word is defenestrate. Which is unfortunate because, really, how many opportunities do you really get to use this word in everyday conversation?

20 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Words”

  1. Both those words grate on my nerves, but they also have completely applicable purposes, so I can't say that I "hate" them, per se. However, "dyke" has no positive connotation, ever. That word gets under my skin worse than the dreaded "N" word. I can easily say that it's the word I hate the most, without reservation.

  2. If you think about it, almost any word can be used as a slur. My pet peeve in that category is when people say:"Oh he's one of those GREEN ones. *roll eyes*" I mean, since when is caring about the environment a bad thing? My fave word is maniacal. 😀

  3. "Retarded" is on my hate list as well, but "gay" is another one that irks me to death, especially when it's used as a slur. It makes me want to jack-slap somebody, preferably the person using it. I hope you feel better soon! I had a cold last week and it was the pits. I thought I was going to die (drama is my life) and imagine my surprise and joy when I survived! It was tough going for a while though.

Leave a Reply

