Friday Five

Friday Five #18

1. This weekend is mid-winter break. Which means…four day weekend! Which couldn’t have come at a better time, because my darling students decided to share their plague germs with me, landing me with a lovely cold. I’m feeling a little better today, but I felt so bad yesterday, there were seriously a couple times throughout the day I thought I was going to start crying. (I didn’t, though. Working with students on their short stories cheered me right up.)

2. I’m using this weekend to: make a dent in my ginormous library pile, catch up on TV shows, read through Darcy’s book (as well as read through all of her comments on SHARDS), catch up on replying to comments and looking at fellow Campaigners’ blogs (I haven’t forgotten you all!), and answering all the 11 Questions (x5) that I’ve been tagged in. To which I can only say, I hope I’m as interesting as you all seem to think I am =)

3. 12/12/12/ update: I’m a little less than halfway through A Clash of Kings right now. Books like this take me forever to get through, just because they’re so dense and there’s so much going on…but I love it. At this point, I’m digging all of the political machinations. Theon, though, has taken the Least Favorite Character crown from Sansa (although, to be fair, I was already starting to find her less annoying, anyway). Anyway, I’m hoping to make significant progress this weekend so I can get this finished by the end of the month.

4. Beginnings have always been the easiest part of writing for me. But I just can’t seem to figure out how to start OPAQUE. I’ve been stuck in the same place all week. I’m mostly just working on other things for now while my brain takes some time to sort that out. Whatever. I’m not too worried about it.

5. In addition to becoming a morning person, teaching is also turning me into a tea drinker and a wearer of cardigans and khakis. To sum up: I don’t even know who I am anymore.

Currently Reading: A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
Currently Listening To: Christina Perri – “Miles”

17 thoughts on “Friday Five #18

  1. #5 reminds me of this week's episode of 30 Rock, where Jenna and her man start going to BB&B together and they think it's a weird sex thing and then realize it's just part of being a couple. Anyhow, not that your wearing cardigans is a weird sex thing, I'm just referring to this normalization and … I'm going to shut up about that. I'm tired.#4 – Beginnings aren't too hard for me either. I usually know where to begin. But the hard part is writing that knock-your-socks-off first line. I have yet to do that, but I think I've got a good one for my next WIP (thing won't stop invading my brain).Get better soon! My Mister has strep, so I've been staying far away from him. Blech.

  2. I have experienced the whole "I'm dressing like a teacher!" moment myself. I actually passed a store today with a pantsuit in the window and found myself thinking, "Oooh, nice!" Doh.

  3. You've got a big to-do list for your long weekend! Hope you make a big ole dent in it! Stopping by from the campaign to say hello! We're in the same group, and I look forward to reading your blog!

  4. Hi from the Campaign – so cool we're in the same group! I'm also attempting to work on my library pile πŸ™‚ I love a productive weekend! (Plus I love that reading counts as productive!)

  5. Stopping by from the campaign! I'm so jealous that you find beginnings easy. I struggle with them and am just starting to feel (after seven drafts) that I'm getting mine right. Nice to meet you! Can't wait to read your get-to-know-you questions (I have three of my own to tackle.)

  6. Hi, Stephanie, I'm a new follower. Visiting from the Campaign list.About #4 something that always helps me is to interview my character. I had a story stuck in my head…sort of…but I didn't know much about my main character so I interviewed him and asked him where he was from…. he proceeded to tell me where he was from, how he got there and where the story first started. I got the whole story pretty much laid out in that one interview. This is how my interview went:Me: Okay David, who are you? I just can't figure you out. You're from Israel, right?David: No, actually I'm from Scandinavia.Me: How did you get clear up there?David: I was born here.Me: Wait, I thought you were Jewish…You can see how this went. Hope it helps. Good luck

  7. Beginnings and endings are my specialty…it's just figuring out what's going to happen in the middle that's the problem! (Unfortunately, the middle also happens to be most of the book…heh.) Nice to meet you, too!

Leave a Reply

