Platform Building Campaign · Shards of Memory

Campaign: Challenge the First

The first challenge of the Fourth Platform-Building Campaign has been posted. If you want more details, you can go to the post, but the short version is:

Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, “Shadows crept across the wall”. These five words will be included in the word count.

I’ve never written flash fiction, but here’s my attempt:

Shadows crept across the wall. I wasn’t sure where I was; in the flickering candlelight, I could see anything, just indistinct shapes shrouded in darkness.

Someone moved off to my right, just the slight crunch of a shoe on a dirt floor. I turned my head, wincing at the pounding as I blinked tears out of my eyes, but all I could see were the legs of a table a few feet away, a frayed tablecloth spread neatly across the tabletop.

The last thing I remembered was my botched escape from the city, the butt of a rifle coming down on the back of my head. And then…nothing.

So, where was I? Was I a prisoner? I was relatively comfortable, I reflected, lying on a mattress on the floor with warm blankets, so probably not. I breathed in, the scent of salt air lingering in the flannel. It was comforting, even more so because it meant I couldn’t have gone too far; I was still on the coast, at least.

I heard the footsteps again.

“Hello?” I called.

This time, a shape shuffled into view, clothed in swaths of fabric – a dress. A woman, then.

“It’s okay. You’re safe now.”

This is a snippet I have in mind for OPAQUE. Who knows – maybe this will work its way in?

If you feel like joining in on the fun, you have until Friday night! I look forward to hopping around and reading everyone else’s!

Currently Listening To: Plain White T’s – “Write You A Song”

39 thoughts on “Campaign: Challenge the First

  1. I am finding that I really enjoy the entries where the person doesn't get whacked into oblivion at the end (which is exactly what happens in mine . . . oops 🙂 This was lovely. I really loved the detail about the smell of salt-water.

  2. Great job!! I LOVE it!! I think it's cool that you used a snippet from a story! I did the same thing, too. I haven't written that part in the book yet, but I think it will work. Sounds scary! Hope I can read it in print someday :)I'm entry #19

  3. As convenient as whacking someone into oblivion is in ending a scene (which I totally do way too much), it's fun to experiment with other ways of ending scenes every once in awhile 😉 Thank you!

  4. Hi there, I'm stopping by from the Fantasy group at the Campaign!Nice piece, I want to know why she's there, what she was running from. I've also found that the challenges always work into a project I'm already doing. I don't know if mine (#161) will make it in to my story either, but it's just a bit of character insight that I didn't have before :).

  5. Ooooo… Definitely hooking… Nice work here 😀 And new follower… Came by to say thanks for your kind comment–looks like a fab blog–I'll be excited for your future posts! 😉

  6. Hey, Stephanie…good job! I, too, love history and books… Just stopping by from the campaign group #1 to say "hi". I am #174, if you have time to take a peek at my submission. Enjoy the challenges of the campaign!

Leave a Reply

