Book Reviews

Review: XVI

XVI
XVI by Julia Karr

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It took me a little while to get into this one. I mean, it was really good – Karr does an incredible job immersing us in the world right from Page One – but I just couldn’t connect to it at first. I just found myself sort of spacing out, wishing we could get to the really juicy stuff already.

Eventually, this happened. There was a huge turning point, and then BOOM, things started picking up, and then I had a hard time putting this book down. There were all sorts of twists and turns, not to mention the fact that I found this book utterly terrifying because, like good dystopias do, Karr took elements already present in our society – advertising, the fear of having the government listening in on you – and magnified them. In fact, I think the world building was my favorite part of this book, because it was done so well.

One thing I had a hard time with was the romance. I just felt like Sal was too distant – so I had a hard time buying into it. That being said, I did feel like Nina’s fears were believable and easy to relate to, so that aspect of the relationship was done very well.

On the whole, this wasn’t my favorite dystopia, but it’s one that’s still worth reading, and I will be reading the next book.

View all my reviews

9 thoughts on “Review: XVI

  1. Hi Stephanie,Dropping by from your campaign group to award you a Versatile Blogger Award for your cool blog. 🙂 You can check it out on my blog under the 'awards' tab.Nice review btw.Have fun!

  2. I'm embarrassed to admit I've never even heard of this one! I'll definitely check it out the next time I'm at my book-getting establishment! Thanks, and great review! So nice that you're honest and willing to admit the problems you found in the work. LOVE that!

Leave a Reply

