Book Reviews

Review: Splendor

Splendor
Splendor by Anna Godbersen

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was so excited to read Splendor. I loved the Luxe series so much, and I was looking forward to seeing how it would end. Ultimately, I was disappointed.

It felt like Godbersen tried to cram too many things into too little space. She had about five different plot threads going on (at least), which led to some of them being underdeveloped. The one I’m thinking of in particular was the one with Elizabeth – it was over within a couple chapters, and felt completely unsatisfying to me. I wished it had been drawn out more, because that one had so much potential to be interesting.

As for the ending itself, I liked it. It was bittersweet, but I think it was more realistic this way. Some of the characters had happy endings, and others…not so much. But for the characters who didn’t have happy endings, given their actions throughout the series, I feel like this was only fair; I think their actions contributed to their fates, and I appreciate Godbersen treating their stories like this.

By far the most interesting character was Diana. Of all of the characters, she was the least concerned with status, and while status was one of the main conflicts throughout the series (and did make things interesting), her lack of concern for it made for a vibrant, fun character, one with big dreams and a willingness to chase them that I loved. Also, I think her ending was my favorite of all of them, and was true to her character.

Splendor was still a lot of fun to read, but not nearly as satisfying as it could have been. If you’re looking to kill a few hours, you should read it; otherwise, you might want to find something else to read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

