Shards of Memory

Lucky 7!

Daisy Carter, C.M. Brown, and M.E. all tagged me to play Lucky 7.

Here’s how it works:
1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines – sentences or paragraphs – and post them as they’re written. No cheating.
4. Tag 7 authors
5. Let them know

I have three different options, but of the three, the only one I have gotten that far in is SHARDS…so I’ll go with that.

“She was attacked,” Mr. Sorenson explained. “The assassin is no longer with us.”

Right at that moment Ethan burst in, looking frantic. “What happened?” he demanded, trying to steady his breathing. He had doubtless been informed by a servant who had seen us return, and had run from his study.

“Assassin,” Mr. Sorenson said shortly, walking away from my spot on the settee to stand over in front of the fireplace, which had a fire crackling in it.

Ethan sighed. I tried to sit up, but Haydée pushed me back down.

And now I tag…
1. Alexandra Shostak
2. Sarah
3. Elodie
4. Bess Weatherby
5. Caitlin Darrell
6. Stephanie Wooten
7. YOU! (If you so choose.)

And now, back to work for me!

Currently Listening To: Florence + The Machine – “Heartlines”
Currently Reading: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

5 thoughts on “Lucky 7!”

  1. Nice excerpt, I'd definitely like to know more of what's going on. Lots of characters in there. "The assassin is no longer with us" could be interpreted as the assassin being dead, too. Interesting!

  2. Ooh, assassins! LOVE IT! This is such a great tag-chain because we get to see each other's writing! And this bit makes me want to read the entire scene — or the entire MS for that matter!

  3. I have a story:I got so excited that you tagged me! I hopped on into my manuscript to find page 77…and realized that it is currently, quite literally, hacked to bits. Like, printed out and cut up with scissors. Because it's in a section of 3 chapters that I've realized need a lot of work. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

