Book Reviews

Review: Glow

Glow
Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve never been much of a science fiction reader, but I’ve been starting to get more into it lately, what with all of the totally awesome YA sci fi I’ve been seeing. Glow falls under that heading. It started off with a ton of action, and then it never really let up the entire book, which ultimately was what pulled me in initially.

Another thing that kept me reading, once I’d actually gotten into the book, was how much there was going on. I saw a bit about gender roles going on (I wish I’d written down an example, since I don’t have the book anymore…), and there was A LOT about the conflict between science and religion, which was really interesting to read. I felt like this book did a very good job handling it, without beating me over the head with it.

One thing I felt like could use more work was the relationships. There was so much going on in the book, and it was moving so fast, I felt like the relationships – between Waverly and Kieran, Waverly and Seth, Waverly and the other girls – were a little underdeveloped. That being said, I did like individual characters, especially Kieran. Kieran really, really annoyed me at first, but as the book went on, he ended up being my favorite character. (Seth, on the other hand, I really just wanted to strangle. But I also sort of wished we could’ve gotten some of his point of view in there, too, so there’s that.)

Even if science fiction isn’t normally what you read, you should check this book out. Even though this does fall into the science fiction genre, it isn’t the defining characteristic of the book; I feel like the relationships and tensions are what really define it.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Review: Glow”

  1. There is a lot of science fiction that has a broader appeal. A large portion of my fan base had never read a science fiction book until mine and they were really surprised they liked it.

Leave a Reply

