Blogging from A to Z, Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: P is for Prom

This week’s topic:
It’s almost prom season, and since we love to read and write about teenagers, we want to hear your prom stories!

Well, my prom was totally and completely uneventful. I guess the only thing I really remember is, instead of going to dinner, some friends and I just went to the movies, all dressed up. And, of course, we had to do it right, so we saw Blades of Glory, which is a totally awesome movie, btw.

Aside from that, I mostly just remember being underwhelmed and feeling like it was just a usual school dance, except for the fact there were only seniors there. I hung out with all the marching band kids, as per usual, and we were suitably dorky.

I think the most eventful part of all of it was probably when I actually bought my prom dress. I went over to Seattle with some friends, and we wandered around downtown. The most eventful part of it was when we were in a store, looking around, and on the way out, we were accused of shoplifting…which was totally dumb, because none of us even took anything off the rack. And, seriously, it was a group of the most clean-cut teenage girls ever, so I don’t even get why we were so sketchy. I mean, it’s downtown Seattle. There are so many people so much sketchier than we were.

Anyway. Here’s a picture of Awkward Teenage Stephanie before prom:

My dress was sparkly and hot pink, and this should surprise no one.

10 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: P is for Prom”

  1. How seriously were you accused? Did they make you go in the scary back room I assume every store has for the sole purpose of detaining cheerleaders? Did a popular bad girl sneak a lipstick in your purse? (I was similarly clean-cut and dorky, so I am completely fascinated by that part of your story because I would have lost my mind in that situation.)

  2. What a pretty dress! The dresses were the best part of prom. If you were wearing that to Blades of Glory, do you think the other people thought you were dressed up for the movie, like as an ice skater? šŸ™‚

  3. Hmm I'm not sure I watched Blades of Glory yet :DIt does sound like you had fun and it must have been quite nice to be all dressed up at the movies šŸ˜€

  4. oh you look beautiful and i love the dress–btw–you remind me of my daughter-in-law—she is doing the a-z thing also–look her up and she if you don't notice the resemblance—adrienne proctor šŸ™‚

  5. Hello, Stephanie! You look so pretty in your prom pic! I remember prom being so overrated. I can't believe all that goes into it these days. Guys asking girls as if it's a marriage proposal?? I mean, what is that?? LoL! I went to my junior prom with my best guy friend (we were in love with each other but refused to admit it until that summer, ha) and then senior prom with that same best guy friend-turned boyfriend. Aaaand now he's my husband! But prom didn't have anything do with that, haha. It really was just like a regular school dance except at a fancier place with fancier-dresses classmates!Have a great week and happy A to Z!!

  6. The things I remember about prom are: being glad I got a light fabric dress because it was boiling hot, the DJ was the worst ever and over half the seniors left after 30 minutes, and my date swiped some playing cards that had been glued together for each table, unstuck them, made a 52 card deck, and I taught him how to play ERS.Not bad, all in all!

  7. Such a pretty dress – you stole it, didn't you? Admit it! šŸ™‚ J/K – how would you even steal a prom dress? Wouldn't the taffeta sticking out from under your shirt be a dead giveaway?

Leave a Reply

