Blogging from A to Z, Shards of Memory, Writing

U is for Update

Because, you know, there aren’t many other options for “U” words. At least none that I can think of off the top of my head. (As an aside, it’s not even 8pm, and I could easily go to sleep right now.)

Anyway, I spend this weekend with a stack of index cards, some colored pens, and a cork board, plotting the next draft of SHARDS. I started the draft last night. I’m hoping that, now that I’m out of the rut I was in for a couple months, I can finish the draft before the end of the school year – so, the end of June. This go-around, I’m working on all the plot issues I had in the last draft – filling in holes, adjusting things, scrapping entire plot threads and replacing them.

I talked about this whole process with my students for a couple minutes at the beginning of class. I figured, since I’m going through basically the same sort of process I’m having them go through in their writing for class – except, you know, on a much larger scale – it would be good for them to see that I’m not just making them do these things because I want them to be miserable or bored or whatever, but because this is actually what writers do.

Anyway, I’m still working on plotting the back half of the book, but I’ll work on that some more as scenes hit me. For now, it’s onward into molding this sucker into shape!

And now for something completely different…Katyinvited us to answer this survey – which is, appropriately, alphabet themed – and since I don’t feel like doing anything productive, I figured I might as well join in! Feel free to respond to the questions and leave me a link to your post, too =)

A is for age: 23.
B is for breakfast today: Cinnamon raisin bagel and coffee.
C is for currently craving: Barbecue.
D is for dinner tonight: I made bagel pizzas in the microwave and washed it down with green tea. Notice the gap between my dream dinner and actual dinner.
E is for favorite type of exercise: Walking or hiking.
F is for an irrational fear: Bees. (I’m waiting for the day a bee flies into my classroom and I’m up there flailing around in front of 30 middle school students.)
G is for gross food: Anything with eyes still attached to it. I can’t eat food that I feel like is watching me.
H is for hometown: I grew up all over the place because my dad is in the military. But I’ve adopted the PNW as my hometown. I’m going to try to stay in Western Washington or Oregon when I’m done student teaching.
I is for something important: My family. Who I guess I don’t really talk about a lot on here, but my parents are both rock stars, my sister is my best friend and one of the most delightfully snarky I know, and my pet brother is pretty cool, for a teenage boy.
J is for current favorite jam: “I Want It That Way” by the Backstreet Boys, forever and ever.
K is for kids: Not for a very, very long time.
L is for current location: My desk chair. It’s hot pink, just like everything else in my room. Also, it spins, which is very important.
M is for the most recent way you spent money: I paid my bills and then bought groceries. Bye bye, bank account.
N is for something you need: COFFEE. Never, ever speak to me in the morning until I’ve downed at least one cup. Please and thank you.
O is for occupation: Student teacher, writer, grill cook extraordinaire.
P is for pet peeve: People who walk slow, and then take up the entire walkway. But that might also be because I walk really fast.
Q is for a quote: “Sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” -Lewis Carroll
R is for random fact about you: I’m allergic to grass, assorted other types of pollen (I’m not sure about the full list, but I suspect multiple trees), dust, and possibly mold. It’s fun.
S is for favorite healthy snack: Oatmeal.
T is for favorite treat: Jelly beans. I have absolutely no self-control.
U is for something that makes you unique: I was secretary of Western’s Harry Potter Club for awhile. I helped organize our annual Yule Ball, which is sort of a big deal.
V is for favorite vegetable: Spinach.
W is for today’s workout: I went for a walk earlier.
X is for X-rays you’ve had: My teeth. I’ve yet to break a bone!
Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Crawling into bed at 9:30. It was utterly fantastic.
Z is for your time zone:Pacific.

Currently Listening To: The Wanted – “Glad You Came”
Currently Reading: Ashfallby Mike Mullin

4 thoughts on “U is for Update”

  1. "People who walk slow, and then take up the entire walkway. But that might also be because I walk really fast."Hehehe – get used to it. That hasn't changed in 20 years of teaching. :)And yay! Love learning all these cool facts about you! I'll probably do mine next week.

  2. Yay! So glad you did the survey, Stephanie. Love that Lewis Carroll quote. 🙂 And I'm looking forward to your thoughts on ASHFALL. I've heard great things about that book!

  3. Have you heard the Legend of Michelle Rhee? Apparently, early in her career, she had trouble controlling her class. Then one day a bee flew into her classroom. Her kids, as city kids do, freaked out. She grabbed the bee out of the air–and ATE IT. And then, the story goes, the kids thought she was so crazy they never messed with her again. And then she took over the world. That story is the most I've ever liked her 🙂

Leave a Reply

