Blogging from A to Z, Book Reviews

W is for Whimsical – Review: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

I’m not usually a huge mystery person (at least, not in the sense that I read specifically for mysteries), but I also knew that since the Sherlock Holmes stories are classics, I had to at least give them a try. And, given my love for Victorian literature, I was pretty much sold. (Also, it totally helps that they were free for my Kindle on Amazon.)

I ended up loving all of the stories. Holmes is a very interesting character, not to mention all the quirks of the other characters who showed up, and many of the cases were just so bizarre, I had to keep reading to figure out how they were even possible. (Clearly, I am far more like Watson than I am like Holmes.)

So, basically, I’m going to have to go and read some more Sherlock Holmes, because I’m hooked.

7 thoughts on “W is for Whimsical – Review: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes”

  1. Hooray for Watson-types! I have a swollen ankle after poledancing class last night (don't even go there), and so now I have a Watson limp. All I need is the cane and I'm set. I think you should read ALL THE HOLMES, because they're all amazing, and I'm not just saying that because I adore anything to do with SH. It's been my favourite book for like ten years. So go forth, and become an addict like me! 😀

  2. There is something fascinating about Holmes, even though the stories are dated, and the logic just wouldn't even work today (the method might). I'm trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

  3. LOVE Sherlock Holmes! I hope you enjoy the rest of the stories.New follower here. I’m enjoying reading my fellow “A to Z”ers. I look forward to visiting again. Sylviahttp://www.writinginwonderland.blogspot.com/

  4. I haven't read any classic Sherlock Holmes. Some friends have recommended the new series that's a BBC production I believe – a miniseries. I watch everything on Netflix and I don't think it's there yet. Anyway, I commend you for going to the source material! As a writer, I'm sure you'll glean something from it. Happy ending of the A to Z challenge!

Leave a Reply

