Book Reviews

Review: A Need So Beautiful

A Need So Beautiful
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really, really wanted to love this book. The premise was really interesting, and was ultimately what kept me going. The rest of it needed a little more work, though, I thought.

First of all, the characters all felt really bland to me. I felt like there were all these cookie cutters – the goodie two-shoes MC, her bad boy boyfriend, her skanky BFF. But then they never really filled out more than that, at least not for me. And because of that, I never really connected with the characters.

There was also the whole shadow versus light thing. This was a really interesting idea, and I loved it, but I felt like this, too, could have used a little more development than it actually got, especially since it ended up being such a hugely important part of the plot.

I did love the cliffhanger at the very end, and despite my reservations about this book, it’s got me interested to read the sequel. Also, call me a little biased, but I totally love that the book was set in Portland, which happens to be one of my favorite places.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: A Need So Beautiful

  1. Okay, so, A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL is one of those occurrences of Katy being so swept away by a steamy romance that she forgets to read critically. Having now read your review, I think you have some really great points about the character development and such, but still… Didn't you kind of love Charlotte and Harlin together?

  2. don't ya just hate it when you want to love it but…..–if i don't get back today–i want to say a big thanks to you and hope to stay in touch–congratzzzzzzzzz 🙂

Leave a Reply

