Blog Me Maybe

The art of re-reading.

I reread books a lot. I try to buy only the books I know I’ll reread. (Unless I’m at a used book store or a book sale or something, in which case it’s like looking for buried treasure.) However, there are few books I’ve reread more than a couple times. Obviously, Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings are a couple examples, and The Hunger Games is making its way onto that list. Other favorites are the Little House books, Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books, and A Little Princess. But there is one book in particular that I want to talk about today: Crown Duelby Sherwood Smith.

I came across this book at Barnes & Noble when I was in high school. I had just finished devouring every single one of Tamora Pierce’s books, and was wondering what to read next, when this one caught my eye. I read the summary on the back, and it sounded interesting. And then I noticed that Tamora Pierce actually blurbed this book – and that’s when I knew I had to read this book.

Over the weekend, I started reading Crown Duelagain for the fifth or sixth time. I think what made me fall in love with it – as with Tamora Pierce’s books – was the fact that it gave me a strong heroine to root for. And not a “strong” heroine in the sense that she kicks butt and takes names and is snarky and hates everyone, but a truly strong heroine who is smart, resourceful, courageous, and vulnerable. Also, as tough as Mel tries to play it throughout the book, she’s actually really insecure sometimes, whether it’s around boys or in how to act at court. It was something I could really relate to back then.

I still love Mel, and how awesome she is. But this time, I’m also studying it carefully, to figure out what works and why and how I can use these elements in my own story. Because, really Mel is the sort of heroine I want Calanthe to be. And the setting is so rich, so detailed, that I just want to crawl into the book and live there – which is exactly how a setting should be. (I would love to live in Mel’s castle in Tlanth in the second part of the book. I’d pretty much just live in the library and never, ever leave.)

And re-reading this book has put me in a mood. I think it might be time to re-read all of Tamora Pierce’s books. Unfortunately, they’re all in boxes in a closet at my parents’ house. But that’s the beauty of a library card…

Do you re-read books? And if so, which books do you re-read?

10 thoughts on “The art of re-reading.”

  1. Wow! I had forgotten all about those books until your post! I remember them very fondly. 🙂 I re-read books all the time. I've read most of the books I own at least 3-4 times. If I don't have something new to read, I'll pick up an old favorite. My hubby thinks I'm weird, but what can I say?

  2. I re-read all the time, too! Some of my fav re's are To Kill A Mockingbird, The Princess Bride, and the Baby-Sitters Club books ;)and HP, which goes without saying…

  3. remember how i told you that your reminded me of my daughter-in-law—now more than ever–she will re-read books all the time–i don't think i have ever done this–except for my own stuff—there are only a handful of movies i will re-watch!

  4. Dude, CROWN DUEL is amazing. I remember the end of the first book and was like WOWZA, and was lucky enough to own the 2-books-in-1 deal so I got to flip right to the second book. :)The most recent re-reads for me were HIS DARK MATERIALS by philip pullman. I just did my undergraduate thesis on the loss of innocence, sexual awakening and power of womanhood in the trilogy and also paradise lost. (yes pairing 2 books) I was so surprised at how much I didn't see the first time I read TGC/TSK/TAS because I was 13 and too much into the romance (lol ❤ Will and Asriel!!). Like much of this is from Paradise Lost (ex: Asriel=Satan, Mrs Coulter=Lilith), and it is so so fascinating 🙂

  5. Crown Duel has been on my TBR pile forevvvvvvvz, so I'll have to bump it up a few notches because of your recommendation. You ONLY recommend great books!I re-read Meg Cabot's Mediator series like once a year, because it is just so great. Same with Artemis Fowl (only the first 3 though – once he starts to get pubescent I lost interest), Sherlock Holmes and Julie Kagawa's The Iron King. Eclectic, no? I'm such a weirdo.

  6. I've revisited some books I loved when I was younger, and some have held up very well through an adult lens, while others make me wonder why I reread them over and over. They include Judy Delton's Kitty series, Carolyn Heywood's books, Lois Lenski's books (she was probably instrumental in helping along my choice of historical fiction as my genre), Patricia Clapp's Constance, and Ida Vos's books. I've also reread adult books like Leon Uris's Exodus and my all-time favoritest book, Hermann Hesse's Demian.

Leave a Reply

