Blog Me Maybe, Writing

Let’s talk about writing.

On Monday, I talked about how I started writing Proto-SHARDS when I was 14 after I read Lord of the Rings. So, my question for you this week is, What made you start writing?

Also, feel free to talk about what your first project was.

Little known fact:Proto-SHARDS was originally about a servant girl named Mistianna who has to free the kingdom from a terrible curse and finds out along the way she’s secretly the heir to the throne, and just didn’t know it.

Unfortunately, this idea sounded much better in my head.

Alright. Discuss.

12 thoughts on “Let’s talk about writing.”

  1. Wasn't her name with a C? Stop lying to me! πŸ˜‰ No idea what my first ever writing project was. Sorry, Stephanie.My favorite writing project was in the 4th grade when we had to write plays. I wrote about a unicorn that goes into a magical cave with his friends. Um yeah…..pretty sure Charlie the Unicorn youtube video was stolen from my 4th grade writing notebook. LOL πŸ˜‰

  2. I eventually changed her name to Calanthe. It took awhile, though. (So much better than Mistianna. Oh, middle school Steph. So cute.)Well, that explains why Charlie the Unicorn was so awesome πŸ˜‰

  3. TWILIGHT made me start writing. I read it, loved uniqueness of the idea, loved the way I grew to care about the characters, but hated MANY other aspects of the story. For better or worse, it inspired me to try my own hand at storytelling, and I haven't looked back. Great question, Stephanie!

  4. OMG! ItΒ΄s scary a bit but like Katy, TWILIGHT gave me a push. I was always writing on and off but after reading Twilight, I thought it was time for me to put my butt on the chair and write. My very first "serious" project was when I was in High School. It took place after the second World War and it was a teenager running away with her boyfriend to be together and to find the secret of her family. If I could find that document again, I might start it up πŸ˜€

  5. I started writing in middle school because I was "too old for imaginary friends." Ha! I just got a BA that says otherwise. Now I'm looking to make money off of them. My first project was about what would happen if it snowed in Los Angeles from the point of view of a cop. Unfortunately, instead of solving riots and panicking and stuff, he just fell in love with his partner. I was twelve.

  6. Okay so maybe I can't really participate in this post but what the heck, I will anyway. I have only written one thing and it wasn't an orignal piece. After I finished reading Harry Potter, I decided to kind of do a fan fiction version of the first book. It was nothing serious just playing around and I really didn't get that far, maybe 3 or 5 pages if I remember correctly and I just added a sub plot that made some alterations to the original. Since then I haven't written anything frankly because I'm crippled by the fear that I might just not flat out be able to write. Well enough of my rambling!

  7. I was 5. The first thing I ever read for pleasure was an issue of Fantastic Four. The work nefarious was cool, so I looked it up. Then I started reading the dictionary for pleasure because I liked cool-sounding words and using them in sentences.

  8. I can't remember a time when I didn't write! My first "serious" project, I wrote just becuase I wanted to see if I could, just for fun…and I could πŸ™‚

  9. I've been writing since 1984, when I was 4 years old. My first book, which I think is still around somewhere, was a picture book done in yellow marker called I and a Sunhat. It was about opposites, showing myself and the sunhat doing stuff like going up vs. down and being in light vs. dark. I believe I wrote and drew it on some of my dad's small stationary papers from work, with the name of his company on them. I taped the pages together at the end.

  10. I don't remember what book made want to start writing but I do remember that I read Jane Eyre when I was 11 and from then on, that's when I started taking my writing more seriously. Back then most of my stories were about princesses because I desperately wanted to be one. I wrote my first novel at age 9 & though it will never see the light of day, I still read over it every once in a while just to marvel at how much my writing has improved since then.

  11. I don't know what exactly started me off, I have been an avid reader my whole life and I guess at some point I just had that moment of 'I want to do that too!'.But I do remember my first 'real' project. It is still gathering virtual dust somewhere on my computer. It was a horrible story I wrote when I was 14 about a boy going on an epic elves-related quest. That thing is never seeing the light of day!

Leave a Reply

