Book Reviews

Review: Divergent

Divergent
Divergent by Veronica Roth

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

After hearing everyone rave about this one for months, I finally decided to read it last month. Which turned out to be a HUGE MISTAKE, because I got absolutely nothing done the day that I read it.

I didn’t write a whole lot of notes about this one in my notebook, because I was mostly busy devouring the entire thing in a matter of hours. What I do have, though, are about the characters. They seemed so realistic to me, from Tris’s inner battles with herself, to all of Four’s demons. I also think that Tris’s inner conflict between what she wants and what her parents want for her was very realistic, and something that teenagers can relate to even though this book is set however many years into the future.

I did find myself really curious, while I was reading, about what happened to make things the way they were. I mean, Tris goes into the whole human nature thing as the basis for the factions, but what was the tipping point? I didn’t dwell too much on this, because this is the first book in a trilogy and there’s time to figure that out, but hopefully we’ll get into more of that as the series progresses.

I read this book in one sitting and couldn’t stop thinking about it for days, and then I immediately preordered Insurgent (which I then proceeded to read in two days – look for that review soon!). People have told me this one is better than The Hunger Games. I disagree with that, but this one came really, really close, and is for sure one of my new Favorite Books Ever. By far the best book I’ve read so far this year.

Actually, I lied. I think Insurgent is going to have to be tied on my list of Top Books of 2012.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Divergent

  1. This was one of my favourite books published last year. I was impressed at the author's young age, and am one of those people who think it is better than the Hunger Games :)Allison (Geek Banter)

  2. I feel like I am one of the few that found this medicore. Well….many many many people must love it because its a NYT bestseller. šŸ™‚ I'm so glad you enjoyed it and look forward to hearing your thoughts on the second book.

Leave a Reply

