Writing

Giving Yourself Permission To Be Mediocre

Having disappeared for a week, I’ll make my return by talking about why it’s important to give yourself permission to be mediocre.

I was thinking about this last week when I was brushing my teeth before work. I’ve been frustrated a lot during my student teaching, because it’s been a long time since I’ve struggled at something, since I’ve been bad at something. And I really, really hate being bad at things.

Which made me think of writing. I mean, I go back through my draft, and cringe, because it’s really, really bad. I mean, what was I even thinking?

But then I’m going through my draft, and I know how to fix things, to make them better. And I wouldn’t even know how to fix those things if I didn’t even have the horrendous draft in front of me, right?

So, even though it’s completely painful, you have to give yourself permission to be bad at things. Because being bad at something – writing, teaching, whatever other things you’re trying to do – is just the first step to being good at things, to being great at things. Because being bad at something, means at least you’ve made the decision to try, which is the only way to get anywhere in the first place.

6 thoughts on “Giving Yourself Permission To Be Mediocre”

  1. Makes sense to me! I always tell myself first drafts are supposed to be bad. So then I can keep going and finish it without looking back and cringing. I can always go back and fix it later!Allison (Geek Banter)

  2. the older i get the more i realize that it's okay to not be the best or even to be the worst at something–beauty and talent etc. is in the eye of the beholder—and the rest is just all relative–to borrow a quote πŸ™‚

  3. "…being bad at something – writing, teaching, whatever other things you're trying to do – is just the first step to being good at things, to being great at things."Love this, Stephanie. Really, when you're bad (or just starting out), the learning curve is steep. There's nowhere to go but up. (And trust me… As a former teacher I can tell you with confidence: It DOES get better and easier and more fun!)

Leave a Reply

