Summer Reading

Summer Reading List, 2012

Summer reading lists have always been a Thing with me. I spend so long agonizing over the Select Few books I’m going to put on the thing – I mean, it can’t be *too* long, because I have to allow for spontaneity in my library visits.

And so, here are the books I’ve selected as the ones I Absolutely Must tackle this summer:
1. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
2. Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver
3. The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
4. Sapphique by Catherine Fisher
5. The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan
6. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larson
7. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
8. Resurrection by Nancy Holder
9. Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink
10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
11. Persuasion by Jane Austen
12. Wuthering Heights by Emily BrontΓ«
13. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
14. The Singing by Alison Croggon
15. Looking for Alaska by John Green
16. Othello by William Shakespeare

I’m planning to sign up for the public library’s summer reading program again. I’m planning to finish this current draft of SHARDS, and hopefully finish the first draft of OPAQUE. I’ve also been looking at all the events the library and our local indie puts on – I think it would be cool to make it to some of those, too. And, hopefully, I’ll be able to find some sort of job…

I still have another month of school, but since it’s Memorial Day weekend and therefore the unofficial start of summer, there’s no time like the present to get started on this list πŸ˜€

What’s on your summer reading list?

12 thoughts on “Summer Reading List, 2012”

  1. Ooh, great list! I love BEFORE I FALL and LOOKING FOR ALASKA… A few books on my summer reading list: BITTERBLUE, THE GREAT GATSBY, and THE BOOK THIEF (because I'm the only person who hasn't read that book yet!).

  2. LOVE Before I Fall, Looking for Alaska and the Circle of Fire. πŸ™‚ On my summer reading list is the 7 books I took out from the library (see blog), Sense and Sensibility and Mansfield Park (once I read those I am done with Jane Austen!!!), 1984 and Brave New World cause I've never read them and…Throne of Glass even if I am mad she made into a love triangle… (Team Dorian LOL!) πŸ™‚ You have a great list so far, Steph and I hope you do some book reviewing too.I am also on the job hunt as well. Le sigh.

  3. I really need to get around to reading Girl with the Dragon Tattoo as well! I'm also hoping to read more of the classics (I've read so few it's embarrassing!) I also really want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and the Night Circus … and like a thousand others!

  4. I have so many! But especially The Disenchantments which I have been looking forward to reading for ages, and Anna and the French Kiss since I keep hearing so many great things about it πŸ™‚

  5. i hope to finish the outlander book i am on–my dil adie gave me two for my bday–"into the wilderness" and "the white queen"—you are certainly ambitious–happy reading–i must admit, i have never read wuthering heights, but loved the adaptation of it in the 70's movie!

  6. I have read 3, 6, 12 and 16. I especially liked #16 when I read the No Fear Shakespeare version. As you may know, the latter is side by side original and contemporary version, that is, put in modern words. It's great!You have a nice list and it would appear as if you'll have to read about 5 a month to reach your attainable goal. Cool.

  7. Actually, you're not the only person who hasn't read The Book Thief yet, because I haven't, either =) (Even though my YA Lit professor spent my last two quarters in his classes telling me to READ IT ALREADY.)On the other hand, this will be my third time reading Looking for Alaska

  8. I'm surprised I'm still not done with Jane Austen. I've been a huge fan since high school.Being a grownup is lame. I wish I could just get paid to sleep all day. I'd be excellent at that.

  9. I haven't seen that adaptation of Wuthering Heights! I think I watched a 2009 TV version a couple years ago, though…it wasn't super fantastic, but it wasn't horrible, either. It's a really good book, although really twisted =)

Leave a Reply

