Book Reviews, YA Book Club

Review: Insurgent

Insurgent
Insurgent by Veronica Roth

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Insurgent.

Oh, Insurgent.

I have a love-hate relationship with this book. Love, because I absolutely loved everything about this book. Hate, because I got absolutely nothing done for the two days I was reading it, and after I turned the last page, I literally shook my Kindle because I thought there was something wrong with it, because that seriously cannot be the last page! And I then proceeded to get very angry because, actually, it was the last page, and also because I couldn’t throw my Kindle at the wall like I would’ve a regular book.

Once again, it was really the characters that I loved the most. I loved that we got to see more of some characters we were only briefly introduced to in Divergent, such as Uriah, Lynn, Caleb, and so on. Also, Eric was as deliciously evil as ever, and yet I couldn’t help but find myself strangely drawn to him. (It’s sort of the same thing with Warner in Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me. I sort of have a thing for Evil Dudes.)

I also really loved watch Tris and Four’s relationship unfold, especially the fact that they had so many challenges to deal with throughout the book. I mean, after all the tension in Divergent, it would’ve been really boring for everything to be smooth sailing and happily ever after for them. This portrayal felt way more realistic.

I absolutely can’t wait for the last book to come out!

View all my reviews

Insurgent was chosen as the May pick for the YA Book Club, brought to us by Tracy Neithercott. To chime in, check out her review here!

16 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent”

  1. The inability to throw eReaders at the wall–score another one for print books! :)That cliffhanger ending really killed. I have to wait HOW long to find out what happens next?

  2. I have to agree with you on the realistic relationship thing. As much as I hated the bickerfests between Tris and Four, at least it felt more like a relationship in the real world. I did have a hard time with Tris sneaking around and lying to Four, though. And that ending! I have questions, but I'm confident that Book 3 will satisfactorily answer them. 🙂

  3. I completely agree. This is a book with a giant PLOT, but I still love the characters the most. They're all so well drawn. I was surprised by the complexities in some of them, like Peter. And Caleb? Ugh, I can't even think about him because IT HURTS. 🙂

  4. Oh I know! What a cliffhanger! I couldn't believe it ended there. I'm already impatient for next year. But I'm glad I read Divergent and Insurgent last month. Fantasic reads! So fun to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

