Book Reviews

Review: Pandemonium

Pandemonium
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved Delirium, but I ended up loving Pandemonium even more. First of all, it moved much faster than Delirium did, and the pace picked up immediately.

I also loved Lena and Julian’s relationship a lot more than Lena and Alex’s. Lena’s relationship felt a lot more mature than her relationship with Alex did, and I feel like it also was a great lens to see how Lena has changed since the first book. Lena was a lot more decisive, and while it was interesting to watch her try to first live with the trap she was in and then try to escape from it, it was even more interesting to see this new Lena (who pretty much existed all along, really).

I love that we got to see more of the world that Lena exists in, but I still wished there was some sort of clue as to why things are the way they are. What made us close our borders and instate the Cure, anyway? I’m hoping we’ll get to find out more in the next book.

And speaking of the next book…I need a time machine, because that cliffhanger at the end was totally cruel.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review: Pandemonium”

  1. So I STILL haven't picked up Delirium and I read the Hana short story that goes in between D and P…but…somehow I still haven't read Delirium. I guess I need to get on it if Pandemonium was so, so good? Have you read BEFORE I FALL? It is AMAAAAAZING!

  2. Uh, yeah… My thoughts EXACTLY. To everything you said. I have absolutely nothing unique to add, except that I adore Lauren Oliver's writing. I'd read her grocery lists if she published them. 🙂

  3. BEFORE I FALL is actually on hold for me right now. I'm just waiting for it to come in to the library!YES, read DELIRIUM! It starts off really slow, but Lauren Oliver's writing is so awesome (which I'm sure you already know), so I didn't mind too much.

Leave a Reply

