And Then Life Happened

Being a normal person (or: Stephanie has an actual weekend [for once])

Something miraculous happened over the weekend: I actually had an entire weekend off for the first time in forever, since the dining hall is closed for the summer now. And, actually, last weekend was actually my last shift at the dining hall, ever – I’ve decided that, since I’m no longer a Western student, it’s time to move on and try to find a big girl job. I’ve worked at the dining hall for four years, and I’ll miss some of the people I worked with, but really…it’s time to move on.

Anyway, what did I did with my free time? Um…not what I totally planned on doing, which was sit around in my pajamas and eat Oreos and read all day. See, having free time freed me up for something called a social life, which I accidentally took full advantage of.

Saturday night, a couple friends randomly came up to visit for graduation, and we went out to dinner. It was actually really nice out, so we were even able to sit at a table outside. Given that we here in the PNW fondly refer to this time of year as June-uary, it was a very nice treat.

Sunday, an actual real, live book tour came through Bellingham. The Fierce Reads tour was in town, so, of course, I had to put on some pants and go to that. I didn’t actually take pictures at the event, since there were only, like, twelve people there and I didn’t want to be that creepy person drawing attention to herself. (Also, as a couple of the ladies discovered, the room also has some very inconveniently placed columns that would’ve made pictures hard to get, anyway.) I did buy Cinder and Shadow and Bone, and I totally got them signed (and ended up introducing myself as “the one who made the pants comment” on Twitter. I’d tell you I’m not normally that awkward, but I’d be lying.)

All six of the authors present had something really interesting to say, but I think my favorite was Emmy Laybourne’s advice about writing, which was to write the book you want to read. (Obviously, other people have said this, too, but it’s always good to have this beaten into you every chance you can.)

And now, I have an Epic Laundry Pile staring at me, so I’d probably better go fold all my clothes before they eat me in my sleep. Business as usual here!

One thought on “Being a normal person (or: Stephanie has an actual weekend [for once])

  1. I really really want to read CINDER. *looks back at ARC to-read list* Damnit…..I won't have time. Anyway I'm so glad you had a nice weekend Steph and I am w/you on the job hunting…*gets out stakes.*Okay I'm ready. 🙂 Oh wait you didn't say vampire hunting? 😛

Leave a Reply

