Book Reviews

Review: Hourglass

Hourglass
Hourglass by Myra McEntire

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I heard so much hype about this book, I was excited to finally read it. I ended up being a little disappointed.

I had a great time reading this one. Emerson’s voice is very sarcastic, and I even laughed out loud in a couple places. (I fully appreciate sarcasm, being fluent myself.) But I felt like, if you were to strip away the sarcasm…there wasn’t a whole lot left to her. Plus, the way Emerson was completely unable to function every time an attractive guy stepped into the picture annoyed me, probably because it reminded me too much of Bella Swan. On the plus side, Emerson at least has a personality, so that’s something.

Speaking of our dashing young gentlemen, I didn’t find Michael all that interesting, but I immediately loved Kaleb, and I’m looking forward to seeing much more of him in the future. The fact that he was just a big teddy bear appealed to me much more than Michael’s whole dark, mysterious, and forbidden act. In fact, I immediately distrusted Michael – something felt off about him to me.

The reason I read this book to begin with was the premise, and that didn’t disappoint. I was able to understand all of the explanations for why the whole time travel bit was happening, which got me pretty excited because science is most definitely not my forte. Then again, I don’t know enough about the science of time travel to know if it was even legit, so don’t take my word on it.

Overall, I was less than impressed, but I was entertained, and I will be reading Timepiece.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Hourglass

  1. Hey I've given you an award from over at my blog! :)http://www.lifeisgood-forever21.blogspot.com/2012/06/another-award-liebster-blog-award.html

Leave a Reply

