And Then Life Happened

What I did on my summer vacation…

Currently Listening To: Nickelback – “Flat On The Floor”
Currently Reading: The Poison Diariesby Maryrose Wood

 

The last day of school was on Friday, which means that I’m officially on summer vacation now. It was a really emotional day for me. Over the course of the semester, I grew genuinely attached to these kids, so saying goodbye to them was really hard for me, and I completely lost it when some of them asked me if I was coming back to teach at the school next year.

One of them gave me these, and I have them brightening up my room right now:

I pretty much have the best students ever 🙂

Anyway, I haven’t really been up to much. I spent the weekend sitting around in my pajamas marathoning Disney movies and Scandal, in between applying for jobs.

Also, cooking. Which I feel like I’m going to be doing a lot more of, because these apple cinnamon pork chops I made Saturday night turned out totally awesome:

So, I guess it’s time to start digging through all those recipes I’ve pinned and actually use them. I’m realizing more and more that I’m actually a pretty decent cook when I’m not being lazy about it!

And in case anyone was wondering, the recipe I used is here. It’s really easy – I had most of the ingredients lying around, so I didn’t have to go out and buy anything. I made it without the nutmeg and pecans, since I didn’t feel like making a trip to the store specifically for those, but it still tasted great without them!

As far as my summer reading goes, I set a goal of 25 books. So far, I’ve read 8, although I’m almost done with The Poison Diaries. The library’s summer reading program ends August 31, so I guess I’m doing pretty well at keeping on pace so far 🙂

What fun summer plans do you have?

Leave a Reply

