Book Reviews

Review: The Sea of Monsters

The Sea of Monsters
The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had a lot of fun reading this one. Just like with The Lightning Thief, several of Percy’s lines made me laugh out loud, which is always a huge plus for me. But there is more to Percy than that; just like any other 13-year-old (you know, the ones who aren’t spending all of their time slaying monsters?), he still has a lot of growing up to do. At one point, Annabeth brings up the idea of a fatal flaw – I hope that this is something that will come up in future books, too.

After reading The Lightning Thief, I felt like it easily could’ve been a standalone, since it tied things up so nicely while leaving a kernel so that it could be turned into a series. The Sea of Monsters did a great job expanding on that kernel, building the suspense and adding in some twists and turns along the way to keep things interesting.

On the whole, this was another really fun adventure story. It does help to be familiar with Greek mythology, but even if you’re not, you can still pick up a few things from reading this series. The characters explain the really important points along the way, but there are some subtle jokes you wouldn’t even think of unless you’re familiar with some of the stories. For example, I realized there was a reason for Mr. D’s taste in clothing after reading up on Dionysus one day. And then I laughed. Hard.

I’m only two books into this series, but I think I’m already hooked. It took me long enough to join the fun!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sea of Monsters

Leave a Reply

