Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Books of June

Currently Listening To: Carrie Underwood – “Blown Away”
Currently Reading: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: What was the best book you read in June?

I read some pretty awesome books in June, but I managed to narrow it down to three:

I’m not normally too into horses, but I absolutely loved The Scorpio Races. While reading the book, I really came to care about Puck and Sean, and I really appreciated that their attraction was based on mutual respect, not on the whole OH EM GEE HE’S SO HOT AND I’M GONNA LOVE HIM FOREVERRRR thing.

I sort of wish I hadn’t read Shadow and Bone while doing my rewrite, because it was just that good. I loved the world building and all the magic stuff (I’m a huge geek for that sort of thing), and Alina’s transformation from a mouse into something more was pretty awesome to read.

I’ve actually still got about 30 pages of Before I Fall to read, which I promise to right after I post this. I was a little iffy on the whole reliving the same day over and over concept, but I had to read it because it’s by Lauren Oliver. It takes some darn good writing to make me genuinely care about a character I hated at the beginning of the story, but the transformations Sam goes through are so believable, and there are so many layers to her that are exposed as the story goes on.

All right, people of the internet. What is the best book you’ve read in June?

28 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Books of June”

  1. I still haven't read Scorpio or Shadow and Bone, but both are on my TBR. I liked Before I Fall, but it wasn't my favorite from Oliver. I liked Delirium better. I've only read two YAs this month and a couple of Writing books. The best I read was Blake Snyder's Save the Cat Strikes Back.

  2. I keep meaning to pick up Before I Fall — I've heard nothing but good things. I'm with you about the horses, so The Scorpio Races hasn't been on my radar, but I might be swayed now… 🙂

  3. I started reading SCORPIO RACES some months ago, but stopped halfway through. I wasn't in the mood for it at the time, but lately I've been thinking about picking it up again. I'm craving really well written prose. I have SHADOW AND BONE sitting here begging for my attention too, though. We'll have to see. 😀

  4. These three are all on my TBR list. I'm so glad you said you're not a horse person but still liked THE SCORPIO RACES. I've been wanting to read it because so many have recommended it (and I need to read me some Stiefvater), but I've been a little hesitant because of the horse theme. Thanks, Stephanie! 🙂

  5. I enjoyed The Scorpio Races, too! 🙂 I liked the attraction between Puck and Sean, as well. It was very cute. I have yet to read Shadow and Bone, but I've heard nothing but good things about it, so I'll definitely add it to my list of books to read! 🙂 I also haven't read Before I Fall, but I LOVED Lauren Oliver's Delirium, so maybe I should check it out!!

  6. The Scorpio Races and Before I Fall are both AWESOME. Love, love, love. I think the best book I read in June was Time Between Us. It's not out until October, though. 🙂

  7. Three great picks! I loved The Scorpio Races, but I have to say that Shadow and Bone grabbed me more than any book has in a while. Alina's voice was so strong, and what a phenomenal love triangle!

Leave a Reply

