Book Reviews

Review: The Scorpio Races

The Scorpio Races
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I first read the description for this book, I thought, Meh, but everyone was raving about it, so I decided to give it a try.

I love this book. First of all, there is the setting. I love me some settings, and this is one of my favorites yet. Stiefvater did a fantastic job bringing this to life, to the point where I could actually feel the rain on my face, smell the ocean, hear the waves crashing on the beach. If you want to know how to write a good setting, read this book.

Then, there are the characters. There’s Puck, who’s willing to do anything to save her family, even put herself through the horror of the races, on an underfed mare, with just about everyone rooting against her because she’s female. And then, through the races, she meets Sean, the four-time champion whose only real love in life is “his” horse, whom he is determined to buy from his employer, Benjamin Malvern, who owns pretty much the entire island. Sean is as wary as anyone else when Puck enters the races, but he comes to respect her determination.

The book started off really slow, and this annoyed me while I was reading it. However, I appreciated this when I was done, because it was actually a way for us to get to know the characters. A lot of the book is buildup to the races, but since I’d become so invested in the characters, I was a complete wreck when the moment of truth finally came.

I recommend this book to everyone. Especially those of us who aren’t normally horse people 🙂

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: The Scorpio Races”

Leave a Reply

