Book Reviews

Review: The Near Witch

The Near Witch
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So let’s talk about setting again. In my review of The Scorpio Races earlier this week, I talked about how that was a book to read if you want to know how to do setting right. The Near Witch is another one. The setting is beautifully crafted, and it really does take on a life of its own throughout the story. The setting is another character, and this story couldn’t have been told without it.

Aside from the setting, the writing itself was really beautiful. I seriously spent most of the time I was reading this book in complete awe of how all of the words and sentences were put together, and I reread some passages because of this. The prose was very poetic.

I did feel like the ending was anticlimactic, though. After spending so long building the tension, I really wished there’d been a little more there. I also wish we’d been able to get inside the characters a little more. I loved Lexi’s determination to keep her little sister safe, but I didn’t really connect to any of the other characters. (Part of that might have been the book’s length – this was a shorter one.)

Overall, I loved this book, and I think everyone should read it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

